Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

NSERC Presents 2 Minutes with Boris Worm
Biology, Dalhousie University


Summary

Video Name

2 Minutes with Boris Worm

Author

NSERC Communications

Duration

1:34

Release Date

September 13, 2011

Description

Dalhousie University's Boris Worm combines oceanography and marine biology to paint a more complete picture of what's happening under the waves. Comprehensive information about the state of the oceans leads to better fisheries management, which benefits the environment, the economy and society as a whole.

2 Minutes with Boris Worm

Transcript
Boris Worm

My research is all about the ocean, how we interact with the ocean so how human actions are changing the ocean and how those changes feed back on our society, what they mean for us. I'm looking particularly on the effects of fishing and increasingly the effects of climate change and how those two interact so how an overfished place is maybe more vulnerable to climate change and what that means for the sustainability of fisheries and management solutions to transform ocean management in a more sustainable fashion.

I think the greatest impact that my research has is that it's contributing to a changing perception we have of the ocean. We used to think the ocean was so large and deep it would be very hard for us to have an impact on it on a global scale but my research, among others, has shown that that is not the case, that indeed we are transforming the ocean on a truly global scale. No place in the ocean is unaffected by human actions anymore and we need to understand this and think about it very carefully in order to progress to the future and to work out forms of ocean management that take account of these impacts and transform our relationship into a more sustainable one.

Was this video useful?

Very useful

Somewhat useful

Not useful

No opinion

Comments:

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Le CRSNG présente 2 minutes avec
Boris Worm
Biologie, Dalhousie University

Résumé

Titre de la vidéo

2 minutes avec Boris Worm

Auteur

Division des communications du CRSNG

Durée

1:34

Date de diffusion

le 13 septembre 2011

Description

Le chercheur de la Dalhousie University, Boris Worm, combine l'océanographie et la biologie marine pour brosser un tableau plus complet de ce qui se passe sous les vagues. Des données détaillées sur l'état des océans permettent de mieux gérer les pêches, ce qui est bénéfique pour l'environnement, l'économie et l'ensemble de la société.

2 minutes avec Boris Worm


Transcription
Boris Worm :

Mon programme de recherche porte entièrement sur les océans et le lien que nous avons avec ceux-ci : l'effet de nos activités sur les océans et la conséquence et la signification de ces changements pour la société. Je m'intéresse particulièrement aux répercussions de la pêche et de plus en plus aux effets du changement climatique et à leur interaction. Une pêcherie surexploitée est-elle plus vulnérable au changement climatique? Quelles sont les répercussions sur la durabilité des pêches? Quelles mesures de gestion des océans favorisent la durabilité?

Je crois que l'effet le plus important de mes travaux est qu'ils contribuent à changer la perception que nous avons des océans. Nous pensions que les océans étaient si vastes et si profonds que nos activités n'auraient jamais de répercussions à l'échelle mondiale. Mais mes travaux et ceux d'autres chercheurs ont montré que ce n'est pas le cas : nous sommes de fait en train de transformer les océans à l'échelle planétaire. Aucune zone océanique n'est désormais à l'abri des activités humaines, et nous devons en connaître les conséquences. Nous devons y réfléchir très sérieusement afin de préparer l'avenir en adoptant des solutions de gestion axées sur la durabilité qui tiennent compte de ces répercussions.

Cette vidéo vous a-t-elle été utile?

Très utile

Peu utile

Inutile

Sans opinion

Commentaires :

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.