Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

NSERC Indigenous Student Ambassadors

(previously Aboriginal Ambassadors in the Natural Sciences and Engineering Award [AANSE])

Accessibility notice: If you cannot access the following content, contact the On-line Services Helpdesk by email at webapp@nserc-crsng.gc.ca or by telephone at 613-995-4273. Indicate the email address and telephone number where you can be reached.

Overview
Value Up to $5,000
Application deadline Minimum of two months before start of activity
How to apply See below
Application form Application form (form-fillable)
For more information See below

What is the purpose of the grant?

The NSERC Indigenous Student Ambassadors (NISA) grant aims to engage Indigenous students and fellows in promoting interest and participation in the natural sciences and engineering (NSE) by visiting Canada’s Indigenous communities and schools and sharing their research and education experiences or participating in science promotion events and activities.

Are you eligible for a NISA grant?

To be eligible, you must:

  • be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident of Canada;
  • be an Indigenous person;*
  • be registered full-time in a degree program in the NSE at an eligible institution or be employed at an eligible institution as a postdoctoral fellow in the NSE at the time your application is submitted.

* ‘Indigenous peoples’ is a collective name for the original peoples of North America and their descendants. ‘Aboriginal peoples’ is also often used as a synonym. For the purposes of this program, NSERC uses the Canadian Constitution Act, 1982 definition of Aboriginal peoples as including the Indian, Inuit and Métis peoples of Canada.

How do you apply?

To be considered for this grant, you must submit the following documents:

  • a completed application form with your signature on the final page;
  • a letter of reference from your supervisor, other faculty member or senior staff at your institution, which attests to your skills and aptitudes for becoming an Indigenous Ambassador;
  • a letter or email from the Indigenous community or school you plan to visit, confirming the proposed arrangements;
  • a copy of documentation confirming your status as an Indigenous person.

Applications must be submitted electronically using the Secure Submissions for NSERC’s Innovative Collaborations and Science Promotion Programs. The application must be submitted in Portable Document Format (PDF) as a single document.

What expenses does this grant cover?

The grant will cover costs associated with the proposed NSE promotion activity and Indigenous community or school visit. These include costs incurred for:

  • travel (air, rail, car rental, taxi, etc.);
  • accommodation (hotel, etc.);
  • meals;
  • material and supplies needed for demonstrations or experiments;
  • incidental expenses (photocopying, faxes, etc.).

Value of grant

The value of the grant will be based on the budget proposed in your application, up to a maximum of $5,000. You may hold only one NISA grant per fiscal year (April 1 to March 31).

Review procedures

NSERC will review applications using the following criteria:

  • impact and reach of the proposal;
  • anticipated value to Indigenous youth and the Indigenous community;
  • feasibility of the proposal.

Application deadlines

There are no fixed deadlines for this grant. Applications must be made at least two months before the start of a proposed outreach activity. The grants available in a given year will be awarded on a first-come, first-served basis.

Note: If your activity is planned for the month of March or April, please submit your application earlier than two months in advance due to a potential delay of your payment as a result of NSERC’s fiscal year-end processes.

Signatures

Before you, as an applicant, can submit your application to NSERC, you must read and agree to the terms and conditions listed in the application form. It is your responsibility to retain a copy of the agreed terms and conditions for your records.

Notification of decision

NSERC will notify you of the decision on your application within one month of receiving it.

Final report

You must provide NSERC with a final report within one month of the completion of the activities supported by the grant. Details will be provided to grantees along with the notification of decision letter. Original receipts for expenses do not need to be sent to NSERC but should be kept as NSERC reserves the right to ask for receipts at a later date.

For more information

Email: ambassadors@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Étudiants ambassadeurs autochtones du CRSNG

(anciennement les bourses pour ambassadeurs autochtones des sciences naturelles et du génie [AASNG])

Avis concernant l’accessibilité : Si vous ne pouvez pas accéder au contenu, communiquez avec le Service de dépannage des services électroniques à webapp@nserc-crsng.gc.ca ou au 613-995-4273. Indiquez dans votre message votre adresse de courriel et votre numéro de téléphone.

Aperçu
Montant Jusqu'à 5 000 $
Date limite Au moins deux mois avant le début de l’activité
Pour faire une demande Voir ci-dessous
Formulaire de demande Formulaire de demande de subvention pour étudiants ambassadeurs autochtones du CRSNG (à remplir en ligne)
Pour en savoir plus Voir ci-dessous

Quel est l’objectif de la subvention?

La subvention pour étudiants ambassadeurs autochtones du CRSNG (EAAC) a pour objet d’inciter les étudiants et les stagiaires autochtones à stimuler l’intérêt pour les sciences naturelles et le génie (SNG) et à favoriser la participation des jeunes autochtones dans ces domaines en se rendant dans des collectivités et des écoles autochtones du Canada pour faire part de leur expérience en recherche et en éducation ou pour participer à des activités de promotion des sciences.

Êtes-vous admissible à une subvention pour EAAC?

Pour obtenir une subvention, vous devez :

  • être citoyen canadien ou résident permanent du Canada;
  • être un Autochtone*;
  • être inscrit à temps plein à un programme menant à l’obtention d’un diplôme en SNG dans un établissement admissible ou travailler dans un établissement admissible à titre de stagiaire postdoctoral en SNG au moment de présenter votre demande;

* Le terme « autochtone » est un nom collectif qui désigne les premiers peuples d’Amérique du Nord et leurs descendants. Aux fins du présent programme, le CRSNG se reporte à la définition de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982, selon laquelle les Autochtones sont notamment des Indiens, des Inuits et des Métis du Canada.

Comment pouvez-vous présenter une demande?

Afin que votre demande soit prise en considération, vous devez présenter les documents suivants :

  • le formulaire de demande dument rempli portant votre signature à la dernière page;
  • une lettre de recommandation de votre directeur de recherche, d’un autre membre du corps professoral ou d’un cadre de votre établissement, qui témoigne de vos compétences et de vos aptitudes à devenir un ambassadeur autochtone;
  • une lettre ou un courriel de l’école ou de la collectivité autochtone confirmant les dispositions prises pour la visite;
  • une copie du document qui atteste de votre statut d’Autochtone.

Les demandes doivent être présentées par voie électronique au moyen du système de présentation sécurisée des demandes aux programmes de collaborations novatrices et de promotion des sciences du CRSNG. La demande doit constituer un seul document en format PDF.

Quels types de dépenses la subvention couvre-t-elle?

La subvention couvrira les couts associés à l’activité de promotion des SNG proposée et à la visite dans l’école ou la collectivité autochtone, et ils comprennent les couts suivants :

  • les déplacements (p. ex., avion, train, location de voiture, taxi);
  • l’hébergement (p. ex., hôtel);
  • les repas;
  • le matériel et les fournitures nécessaires pour les démonstrations ou les expériences;
  • les dépenses accessoires (p. ex., photocopies, télécopies).

Montant de la subvention

Le montant de la subvention sera déterminé en fonction du budget proposé dans votre demande, jusqu’à concurrence de 5 000 $. Vous ne pouvez recevoir qu’une seule subvention par exercice financier (soit du 1er avril au 31 mars).

Évaluation des demandes

Le CRSNG évaluera les demandes en fonction des critères suivants :

  • incidence et portée de la proposition;
  • intérêt prévu pour les jeunes Autochtones et la collectivité autochtone;
  • faisabilité de la proposition.

Dates limites de présentation des demandes

Le CRSNG n’impose aucune date limite pour cette subvention, mais les demandes doivent être présentées au moins deux mois avant le début de l’activité de promotion proposée. Les subventions pouvant être attribuées au cours d’un exercice donné seront accordées selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi.

Remarque : Si vous prévoyez tenir votre activité au cours des mois de mars ou d’avril, veuillez présenter votre demande plus de deux mois avant le début de l’activité afin d’éviter un retard dans le versement de la subvention en raison des processus de fin d’exercice du CRSNG.

Signatures

Avant de pouvoir présenter votre demande au CRSNG à titre de candidat, vous devez lire et accepter les modalités énoncées dans le formulaire de demande. Il vous incombe de conserver une copie des modalités acceptées pour vos dossiers.

Avis de décision

Le CRSNG vous avisera de sa décision quant à votre demande au cours du mois suivant sa réception.

Rapport final

Vous devez présenter au CRSNG un rapport final dans le mois suivant la fin des activités appuyées par la subvention. Les titulaires d’une subvention recevront des renseignements détaillés à ce sujet en même temps que l’avis de décision. Les titulaires ne sont pas tenus d’envoyer les reçus originaux pour les dépenses engagées, mais ils devraient les conserver puisque le CRSNG se réserve le droit de demander les reçus à une date ultérieure.

Pour en savoir plus

Courriel : ambassadeurs@nserc-crsng.gc.ca