Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Guidelines for Research Partnerships Programs Project Management Expenses

Effective project management demands that the components of a project be constantly monitored and revised with new information. While the principal investigator is responsible for overall delivery of research results in partnered grants, certain university-industry projects may require additional project management resources to ensure integrated coordination of research activities and timely delivery of research results to partners.

Research and development is by nature uncertain. Meeting project milestones in university-industry projects can be a challenge. The use of suitable project management resources can help realize project milestones and deliver research results. The appropriate resource will depend on the type of research being performed and the objectives sought in addition to the number of stakeholders collaborating and scope of work. A project of applied nature may be amenable to well defined milestones whereas an exploratory research project may require a more flexible approach to work through unpredictable results. The university researcher(s) and partner(s) should work together to ensure that the project management resources align with the goals and deliverables of the research project when considering the subject matter and project length.

Supportable Expenditures and Activities

The goal is to enable researchers to make use of dedicated project management resources for improved realization of university-industry grants in the Strategic Project Grants (SPG), Collaborative Research and Development (CRD), Industrial Research Chair (IRC), Idea to Innovation (I2I) Phase IIb and Strategic Network Grants (SNG) programs only. 

Supportable activities and expenditures for this line item include:

  • project manager salary;
  • project management software; and
  • project management training for scientific and technical staff working on a project for which project management expenses are requested. Staff training is for project management only and training for other types of activities will not be accepted.

Project management activities may include: setting schedules and scopes of work, ensuring management and delivery on all activities taking place in the project, liaising with industrial partners, organizing data collection and/or field surveys, drafting results, dissemination and preparing reports. The project management resource may be a professional project manager or a member of the scientific team (for example a research associate or a post-doctoral fellow). As a general rule graduate students are not expected to provide project management support to the eligible partnered grants. A fraction of the project manager’s time will be directly attributable to the project management expenses.

Individuals eligible to apply for NSERC funding cannot receive any compensation related to this project management line item. Project funds cannot be used to fund part of the salary of an administrative assistant. Other types of expenses (i.e., administrative and secretarial expenses) are not eligible as project management expenses.

Level of Financial Support

The maximum level of support for all expenditures related to project management will be up to 10% of the total cash contributions to the project from all sources.

In some cases, the industry partner may be in the best position to provide the project management support to the activities conducted at the university by academic faculty, staff, and students. Such project management expenses provided by partners will be recognized as an eligible in-kind contribution to the project to a maximum amount of 10% of the total cash contributions from all sources.  This in-kind contribution should be described in the 'Contributions From Supporting Organizations' section of the application form (i.e. Form 101) and the partner’s letter of support.

Identification of Project Management Expenses

In the Budget Justification section of the application:

  • Project Management Salary expenses must be listed under Salaries and Benefits.
  • Project Management Software requests must appear under Materials and Supplies.
  • Project Management Training Costs should appear under Other Expenses.

As with all proposed budget expenses, the applicants must justify their proposed budget to allow reviewers to assess whether the project management resource(s) requested are appropriate. The amount and percent time of the project manager salary request must be commensurate with the scope and scale of the project. Project management expenses for other grants cannot be provided from these expenses.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Lignes directrices des programmes de partenariats de recherche sur les coûts de la gestion de projet

Pour assurer la gestion efficace d’un projet, il faut faire le suivi continu des divers volets du projet et les revoir en fonction de nouvelles données. Le chercheur principal est responsable de la transmission globale des résultats de la recherche obtenus grâce à des subventions de partenariat, mais des ressources supplémentaires pourraient être requises pour assurer, dans le cadre de certains projets universités‑industrie, la coordination intégrée des activités de recherche et la transmission opportune des résultats aux partenaires.

Les activités de recherche et développement (R et D) comportent, de par leur nature, de l’incertitude. Il peut être difficile de respecter les étapes-jalons prévues pour des projets universités‑industrie. Le respect des étapes-jalons et la transmission des résultats pourraient être plus faciles si des ressources appropriées étaient attribuées à la gestion du projet. Les ressources requises dépendent du type de recherche réalisée, des objectifs fixés, du nombre de collaborateurs et de la portée des travaux. Ainsi, il faudrait fixer des étapes-jalons rigoureuses pour un projet de recherche appliquée, alors que celles d’un projet de recherche exploratoire pourraient être plus souples compte tenu de l’imprévisibilité des résultats. Les chercheurs universitaires et les partenaires doivent collaborer en vue de prévoirdes ressources pour la gestion de projet et de les aligner sur les objectifs et les résultats attendus du projet tout en tenant compte du sujet et de la durée des travaux.

Dépenses et activités qui peuvent être financées

L’objectif est de permettre aux chercheurs d’utiliser les ressources destinées à la coordination de projet en vue de mieux exploiter les subventions de partenariats universités‑industrie accordées dans le cadre des programmes suivants : le Programme de subventions de projets stratégiques (SPS), le Programme de subventions de recherche et développement coopérative (RDC), Programme de professeurs-chercheurs industriels (PCI), le programme De l’idée à l’innovation (INNOV) (phase IIb) et le Programme de subventions de réseaux stratégiques (SRS).

Voici les dépenses et les activités qui peuvent être financées pour ce poste:

  • le salaire du gestionnaire de projet;
  • le logiciel de gestion de projet;
  • formation en gestion de projet pour le personnel scientifique et technique qui travaille à un projet pour lequel des dépenses de gestion de projet ont été prévues. La formation doit porter uniquement sur la gestion de projet; celle qui concerne d’autres types d’activités ne sera pas acceptée.

Voici des activités de gestion de projet qui sont admissibles : l’établissement du calendrier et de la portée des travaux; la surveillance de la gestion et de l’exécution de toutes les activités qui se déroulent dans le cadre du projet; la liaison avec les partenaires industriels; l’organisation de la collecte de données ou d’études sur le terrain; la rédaction et la diffusion des résultats; et la préparation des rapports. La gestion de projet pourra être faite par un gestionnaire professionnel ou un membre de l’équipe scientifique (p. ex. un attaché de recherche ou un stagiaire postdoctoral). Règle générale, on ne s’attend pas à ce que les étudiants des cycles supérieurs contribuent à la gestion de projet dans le cadre des subventions de partenariat admissibles. Une partie du temps du gestionnaire sera directement imputable aux dépenses de gestion de projet.

Les personnes qui sont admissibles à présenter une demande de fonds au CRSNG ne peuvent recevoir aucune rémunération pour cette fonction. Les fonds du projet ne peuvent servir à payer une partie du salaire d’un adjoint administratif. Les dépenses de gestion de projet ne comprennent pas les coûts d’administration et de secrétariat.

Montant de l’aide financière

Le montant maximal de toutes les dépenses liées à la gestion de projet représente jusqu'à 10 p. 100 du total des contributions financières versées au projet.

Dans certains cas, le partenaire industriel pourrait être le mieux placé pour financer les activités de gestion de projet réalisées à l’université par des professeurs, des employés et des étudiants. Un tel financement sera considéré comme une contribution en nature admissible du partenaire et représentera au maximum 10 p. 100 du total des contributions en espèces provenant de toutes les sources. Cette contribution doit être indiquée dans le formulaire 101, Demande de subvention, à la section intitulée Contributions des organismes d’appui, ainsi que dans la lettre d’appui fournie par le partenaire.

Identification des coûts de la gestion de projet

  • Les dépenses doivent être inscrites comme suit dans la section de la demande qui porte sur la justification du budget :
  • les dépenses salariales pour la gestion de projet : sous Salaires et avantages sociaux;
  • les coûts du logiciel de gestion de projet : sous Matériaux et fournitures;

les frais de formation en gestion de projet : sous Autres dépenses.

Comme c’est le cas pour toutes les dépenses prévues, le candidat doit justifier le budget présenté pour que les examinateurs puissent évaluer si les ressources demandées pour la gestion de projet sont appropriées. Le montant de ces dépenses et le pourcentage du temps du gestionnaire doivent correspondre à la portée et à l’envergure du projet. Ces dépenses ne comprennent pas les dépenses de gestion de projet liées à d’autres subventions.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.