Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Past Winner
2011 NSERC Synergy Awards for Innovation

Yun Zhang

University of New Brunswick and PCI Geomatics

Category 1: Small and Medium-Sized Companies

Yun Zhang
Yun Zhang

Research satellites provide the ultimate “big picture.” From space, researchers can observe large areas of land and water and, for a country like Canada—with more coastline than any other nation and vast areas of remote wilderness—that makes it possible to see what’s happening in hard-to-reach places.

This has the potential to provide more and better information to improve the safety of marine travel, protect the environment, develop resources in remote areas, and respond to climate change.

But while the major advantage of satellite imagery is that it captures vast amounts of data, this is also what leads to the technology’s limitations—it can be slow, expensive and difficult to process it all.

Yun Zhang works with PCI Geomatics to solve problems associated with remote sensing image processing to make these “big picture” images much clearer and more easy to use. He has created complex algorithms that can fuse images from satellites with a processing speed and image quality that is the best in the world. He’s also creating technology that can create clearer colour images, so that remote sensing imagery can more clearly resemble traditional aerial photography.

The demand for processing technology is growing rapidly as many countries, including Canada, have launched vastly improved satellites with greater data-gathering capabilities. Dr. Zhang’s advances have helped PCI Geomatics achieve a significant increase in its global customer base—which now includes NASA, the U.S. Geological Survey, the U.S. Department of Agriculture, and Natural Resources Canada—and national security and intelligence agencies.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Ancien lauréat
Prix Synergie pour l'innovation du CRSNG de 2011

Yun Zhang

Université du Nouveau-Brunswick et PCI Geomatics

Catégorie 1 : Petites et moyennes entreprises

Yun Zhang
Yun Zhang

Les satellites de recherche nous donnent la meilleure « vue d’ensemble » possible. À partir de l’espace, les chercheurs peuvent observer de grandes étendues de terres et d’eau et dans le cas d’un pays comme le Canada – qui possède le plus long littoral et de vastes étendues sauvages éloignées – il leur est ainsi possible de voir ce qui se passe à des endroits difficilement accessibles.

Ces satellites pourraient fournir des renseignements plus nombreux et de meilleure qualité, ce qui contribuerait à améliorer la sécurité des voyages maritimes, à protéger l’environnement, à exploiter les ressources dans les régions éloignées et à s’adapter au changement climatique.

Mais les vastes quantités de données que permet de saisir l’imagerie satellitaire et qui constituent son principal avantage poussent également cette technologie à sa limite – le traitement de toutes ces données peut exiger beaucoup de temps et être onéreux et difficile.

Yun Zhang travaille avec PCI Geomatics à résoudre des problèmes associés au traitement des images obtenues par télédétection afin de rendre ces « vues d’ensemble » beaucoup plus claires et plus faciles à utiliser. Il a créé des algorithmes complexes qui peuvent fusionner les images satellites à une vitesse de traitement et une qualité inégalées ailleurs dans le monde. Il développe également une technologie capable de créer des images aux couleurs plus claires, afin que les images obtenues par télédétection ressemblent davantage aux photographies aériennes traditionnelles.

La demande en technologie de traitement augmente rapidement puisque de nombreux pays, dont le Canada, ont mis en orbite des satellites considérablement améliorés qui ont une capacité accrue de collecte de données. Les percées de M. Zhang ont aidé PCI Geomatics à accroître de façon appréciable sa clientèle mondiale, laquelle comprend maintenant la NASA, le U.S. Geological Survey, le U.S. Department of Agriculture et Ressources naturelles Canada, ainsi que des organismes nationaux de sécurité et du renseignement.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.