Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Past Winner
2015 NSERC E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowships

Dr. Wei Yu

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

University of Toronto

Dr. Wei Yu
Dr. Wei Yu

Meet the researcher who helped make your Internet faster

That copper telephone wire coming into your home was never designed to stream the latest blockbuster movie to your computer. One of the reasons it can today is because of some ingenious engineering by a University of Toronto researcher who co-invented computational techniques for squeezing high-capacity bandwidth from legacy communications systems.

Communication networks are never fast or efficient enough for Dr. Wei Yu. The Canada Research Chair in Information Theory and Wireless Communications has spent his career creating practical applications that stretch the limits of wired and wireless networks so they become more cost-effective and better performing.

He developed mathematical algorithms for optimizing capacity and increasing the power efficiency of digital subscriber line (DSL) networks. The technology has been implemented in over 100 million copper telephone lines by telecom companies throughout the world.

Dr. Yu has also made important contributions to the development of next-generation wireless cellular networks, which power high-speed mobile data access for smart phones, tablets and laptops. His current research is in examining the future architecture of wireless network infrastructure and in designing novel signal processing techniques to improve the transmission speeds of wireless data access.

A prolific scholar with over 10,000 citations to his credit, Dr. Yu has received several awards, including the Early Research Award from Ontario, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Signal Processing Society Best Paper Award and an NSERC Discovery Accelerator Award. He has also been recognized as Fellow of the IEEE and as a Highly Cited Researcher by Thomson Reuters.

Photos

Dr. Wei Yu
Dr. Wei Yu
Dr. Wei Yu
Dr. Wei Yu
Dr. Wei Yu
Dr. Wei Yu

Copyright acknowledgement

To distribute or publish photos that appear in the NSERC Top Researchers section of the Media Room:

  • For photos, please provide an acknowledgment to "NSERC" or the "Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada;"
  • For video acknowledgement, please contact Media Relations.
People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Ancien lauréat
Bourses commémoratives E.W.R. Steacie du CRSNG de 2015

Wei Yu

Département de génie électrique et informatique

University of Toronto

Wei Yu
Wei Yu

Voici le chercheur qui a augmenté la vitesse de votre Internet

Le câble téléphonique en cuivre qui passe dans nos maisons n’a jamais été conçu pour transmettre en continu à nos ordinateurs les dernières superproductions cinématographiques. Nous en avons aujourd’hui la capacité en partie grâce à un astucieux ingénieur de la University of Toronto qui a coinventé une technologie pour obtenir des bandes passantes à capacité élevée des anciens systèmes de communication.

Pour Wei Yu, les réseaux de communication ne sont jamais assez rapides ou efficaces. Titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en théorie de l’information et en communication sans fil, M. Yu a consacré sa carrière à la création d’applications pratiques visant à repousser les limites des réseaux avec et sans fil afin d’en accroître la rentabilité et le rendement.

Il a développé des algorithmes pour optimiser la capacité et accroître le rendement énergétique des réseaux de lignes d’abonnés numériques (DSL). Des entreprises de télécommunications partout dans le monde ont mis en œuvre cette technologie dans plus de 100 millions de lignes téléphoniques en cuivre.

M. Yu a également fait d’importantes contributions au développement des réseaux cellulaires sans fil de la prochaine génération, qui alimentent l’accès haute vitesse aux données mobiles pour les téléphones intelligents, les tablettes et les ordinateurs portatifs. Ses travaux de recherche actuels portent sur l’architecture future des infrastructures de réseaux sans fil et la conception de nouvelles techniques de traitement du signal afin d’améliorer la vitesse de transmission pour l’accès aux données sans fil.

Universitaire prolifique, M. Yu a fait l’objet de plus de 10 000 citations et a reçu plusieurs prix et bourses, y compris la bourse de nouveaux chercheurs du gouvernement de l’Ontario, le prix du meilleur article scientifique de la Signal Processing Society de l’Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) et un supplément d’accélération à la découverte du CRSNG. En outre, il a été nommé membre de l’IEEE, et Thomson Reuters l’a désigné comme l’un des chercheurs les plus cités.

Photos


Reconnaissance du droit d'auteur

Pour publier les photos qui sont affichées dans la page Salle des médias sous la rubrique Lauréats des principaux prix du CRSNG :

  • Pour les photos, nous vous demandons de reconnaître qu'elles ont été fournies par le CRSNG ou le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada;
  • Pour les vidéos, veuillez communiquer avec l’équipe des relations avec les médias pour savoir comment reconnaître qu’elles ont été fournies par le CRSNG.
Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.