Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Past Winner
2013 NSERC E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowships

Warren Chan

Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering

University of Toronto

Warren Chan
Warren Chan

Many researchers around the world see enormous potential for nanotechnology, such as quantum dots. Most of the attention, however, is focused on their use in silicon chips, solar technology and other industrial-type uses.

Warren Chan is a global leader in the field of nanotechnology and is breaking new ground in an important area: using quantum dots in biomedical applications. Dr. Chan, together with a colleague, was among the first to demonstrate the use of quantum dots as a contrast agent for biomedical imaging. Another important discovery has been how the size and shape of nanoparticles can influence how they are transported in cells and throughout the body. This has opened a new field of study in nanotechnology known as “nano-bio interaction.” 

Dr. Chan, a 2013 recipient of an NSERC Steacie Fellowship, is now leading the development of nanotechnology-based handheld diagnostic tools. This handheld-sized device would be capable of screening for biological molecules that indicate the presence of pathogens. The tool would be especially beneficial in the developing world and could be used to detect HIV, Hepatitis B and Hepatitis C, malaria and syphilis. Chan has co-founded two companies, including one Cytodiagnostics that has positive revenue and is one of the top five nano-biotechnology companies in the world. He also contributes to national and international agencies examining the impact of nanomaterials and developing regulations governing their use.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Ancien lauréat
Bourses commémoratives E.W.R. Steacie du CRSNG de 2013

Warren Chan

Génie des biomatériaux et génie biomédical

University of Toronto

Warren Chan
Warren Chan

Des chercheurs des quatre coins du monde pensent que la nanotechnologie offre d’énormes possibilités, par exemple, les points quantiques. Cependant, l’attention est concentrée sur leur utilisation dans les puces de silicium, la technologie solaire et d’autres domaines industriels.

Warren Chan est un chef de file mondial du domaine de la nanotechnologie qui fait des percées dans un domaine important : l’utilisation des points quantiques dans les applications biomédicales. M. Chan et un collègue ont été les premiers à démontrer que les points quantiques peuvent servir d’agent de contraste dans l’imagerie biomédicale. Ils ont fait une autre découverte importante : l’effet de la taille et de la forme des nanoparticules sur la façon dont elles sont transportées dans les cellules et partout dans le corps. Ils ont ainsi créé un nouveau domaine d’étude en nanotechnologie : l’interaction nanobiologique.

M. Chan, l’un des lauréats de 2013 d’une Bourse commémorative E.W.R. Steacie du CRSNG, dirige maintenant l’élaboration d’outils de diagnostic portatifs basés sur la nanotechnologie. Un appareil de la taille d’un appareil portatif pourrait détecter les molécules biologiques qui indiquent la présence de pathogènes. Il serait particulièrement utile dans les pays en développement et pourrait servir à détecter le VIH, l’hépatite B, l’hépatite C, la malaria et la syphilis. M. Chan a cofondé deux entreprises, dont Cytodiagnostics qui a un bon rendement et qui se classe parmi les cinq grandes entreprises de nanobiotechnologie du monde. Enfin, il aide les organismes nationaux et internationaux qui étudient les effets des nanomatériaux et élaborent des règlements pour régir leur utilisation.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.