Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Report on the Applicant

Instructions for Completing a Report on the Applicant – Form 201

General Information

Who Should Complete the Report on the Applicant?

Complete the Report if you have agreed to evaluate an applicant for an NSERC Postgraduate Scholarship-Doctoral (PGS D) or Postdoctoral Fellowship (PDF). The Report cannot be completed by a proposed supervisor unless that person is, or has been, the applicant's supervisor.

Refer to the Frequently Asked Questions for References Completing a Report on the Applicant – Form 201 for more information.

Before Proceeding

By submitting your Report to NSERC, you confirm that you have read and understood these instructions. This is in addition to the acceptance of the Terms and Conditions for References. Refer to the Signatures section.

Have you Taken Steps to Eliminate Implicit or Unconscious Biases?

It is important that the reference process be free of any bias, whether these biases are based on a school of thought, fundamental versus applied research, certain sub-disciplines, areas of research or approaches (including emerging ones), size or reputation of an institution, age, personal factors or the gender of the applicant. NSERC cautions references against any judgment of an application based on such factors and asks them to constantly guard against the possibility of unconscious bias influencing the decision-making process.

NSERC is actively engaged in increasing gender equity in its review processes to contribute to improved gender equality in science and engineering fields. For reference, see NSERC’s Policy Statement on Gender Equality in Science and Engineering and available resources such as This link will take you to another Web site Strengthening Canada’s Research Capacity: The Gender Dimension.

Personal Information

The collection, use and disclosure of personal information provided to NSERC is outlined in the following policy statements:

The information you provide in your Report is collected under the authority of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Act. NSERC is subject to the This link will take you to another Web site Access to Information Act and the This link will take you to another Web site Privacy Act. The information you provide is stored in a series of NSERC data banks described in This link will take you to another Web site Info Source Publications.

NSERC routinely gives applicants access to information about themselves that is kept in Council files, but does not provide the applicant with the name of the person who submitted the evaluation or the names of any other applicants mentioned in a comparative context. However, due to the nature of the application process, applicants are usually aware of who has completed their evaluation. As a result, you cannot expect privacy or anonymity.

Completing the Report

Applicants will indicate in their application for a PGS D or PDF the name and email address of the two references who will complete the Report. An email will be generated by the On-line System inviting you, as a reference, to complete the Report. Follow the instructions in the email to provide your contact information and your assessment of the applicant. Complete and submit this information by the date specified by the applicant. You will also have access to the application submitted by the applicant.

Note: Applicants have been advised to provide their references with a deadline that is well before the application deadline, to allow applicants to submit their completed application on time. NSERC will not consider the application as complete without your Report.

Length of report

  • PGS D: Limit is approximately one half of a page.
  • PDF: The first box represents approximately one half of a page. You may use the second box to provide additional comments (approximately three quarters of a page).

It is imperative that you preview your Report before it is submitted to ensure that the text fits within the available space, as the system will not stop you from going over the space limit. Text that is not visible on the previewed Report will not be seen by NSERC staff or the selection committee members.

Once the Report is completed, follow instructions to submit it electronically. The applicant will be advised that the Report was completed but will not be able to view its content (refer to the Personal Information section). Once the Report is submitted, you will no longer have access to it. If you wish to make changes, you must communicate with the applicant and request that the Report be “unlocked” for revisions. Once the Report is unlocked, you will be able to make the changes and resubmit the Report electronically. Once the applicant has submitted the full application to NSERC, this functionality will no longer be available.

If you are completing an evaluation

Comment on each evaluation criterion listed below, and provide a justification of your evaluation. Rather than providing general comments, assess the applicant's strengths and limitations for each criterion. Include examples of the applicant's accomplishments and contributions to support your assessment.

Evaluation Criteria

Research ability or potential

  • Quality of the applicant's contributions to research and development, and their role in joint publications.
  • Quality of the journals in which the applicant has published.
  • Relevance of applicant's work experience and academic training to the field of proposed research.
  • Significance, feasibility and merit of proposed research.
  • Applicant's suitability for research in terms of:
    • ability for critical thought and analysis;
    • ability to apply skills and knowledge;
    • judgment;
    • originality;
    • initiative and autonomy;
    • enthusiasm for research; and
    • determination and ability to complete projects within an appropriate period of time.

Communication, interpersonal, and leadership abilities

  • Ability or potential to communicate scientific concepts clearly and logically in written and oral formats (e.g., quality of presentations and papers, effectiveness of teaching).
  • Ability or potential to interact effectively with co-workers in a scientific setting (e.g., capacity to share ideas, to provide and receive critical feedback).
  • Leadership ability or potential relevant to a scientific career (e.g., mentoring, teaching, project management, chairing committees, organizing conferences or meetings, supervisory experience).
Relative weighting of criteria
  PGS D PDF
Academic excellence 30 NA
Research ability or potential 50 70
Communication, interpersonal, and leadership abilities 20 30

Signatures

NSERC does not require original signatures on applications or other documents submitted electronically through its On-line System. The electronic submission of applications through this system represents approval and replaces the traditional "physical" or "wet" signatures.

What do the Electronic or Original Signatures on the Application Mean?

Before you, as a reference, can submit the Report to NSERC, you must read and agree to the Terms and Conditions for References that are found at the end of the submission process. It is your responsibility to retain a copy of the agreed Terms and Conditions for your records.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Rapport sur le candidat

Instructions relatives à la présentation d'un rapport sur le candidat – Formulaire 201

Renseignements généraux

Qui doit remplir le rapport sur le candidat?

Veuillez remplir ce rapport si vous avez accepté d’évaluer un candidat à une bourse d’études supérieures – doctorat (ES D) ou à une bourse postdoctorale (BP) du CRSNG. Le directeur de travaux proposé ne peut pas remplir le rapport à moins qu’il soit le directeur de travaux du candidat ou qu’il l’ait déjà été.

Pour en savoir plus, reportez-vous à la Foire aux questions pour les répondants qui remplissent un rapport sur le candidat – Formulaire 201.

Avant de commencer

En présentant votre rapport au CRSNG, vous confirmez que vous avez lu et compris ces instructions. Cela s’ajoute à l’acceptation des modalités qui s’appliquent aux répondants. Consultez la section Signatures.

Avez‑vous pris des mesures pour éliminer les préjugés implicites ou inconscients?

Il est important que le processus de références soit impartial et qu’il ne soit pas influencé par des préjugés basés sur une école de pensée, l’opposition entre la recherche fondamentale et la recherche appliquée, certaines sous‑disciplines, des domaines ou des méthodes de recherche (y compris les nouvelles), la taille et la réputation d’un établissement, l’âge, des facteurs personnels ou le sexe du candidat. Le CRSNG met en garde les répondants contre l’évaluation d’une demande qui serait basée sur ces facteurs et leur demande de se protéger contre les préjugés inconscients qu’ils pourraient avoir et qui pourraient influer sur le processus décisionnel.

Le CRSNG s’emploie activement à accroître l’égalité entre les sexes dans ses processus d’examen afin d’accroître l’égalité entre les sexes dans les domaines des sciences et du génie. À titre informatif, consultez l’Énoncé de politique sur l’égalité des sexes dans les domaines des sciences et du génie du CRSNG et les ressources disponibles telles que le document intitulé This link will take you to another Web site Renforcer la capacité de recherche du Canada : La dimension de genre.

Renseignements personnels

La collecte, l’utilisation et la divulgation des renseignements personnels fournis au CRSNG sont décrites dans les énoncés de politiques suivants :

Les renseignements que vous fournissez dans votre rapport sont recueillis en vertu de la Loi sur le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie. Le CRSNG est assujetti à la This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur l’accès à l’information et à la This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Les renseignements que vous fournissez sont conservés dans des banques de données décrites dans les This link will take you to another Web site Publications d’Info Source.

Le CRSNG fournit régulièrement aux candidats des renseignements à leur sujet, qui se trouvent dans ses dossiers, mais ne divulgue pas le nom de la personne qui a présenté l’évaluation ni le nom de tout autre candidat mentionné à des fins de comparaison. Cependant, en raison de la nature du processus de demande, les candidats sont généralement au courant du nom de la personne qui a effectué leur évaluation. Par conséquent, vous ne pouvez pas vous attendre à un respect de la confidentialité ou de l’anonymat.

Remplir le rapport

Dans leur demande de bourse ES D ou de BP, les candidats doivent indiquer le nom et l’adresse de courriel des deux répondants qui rempliront le rapport. Un courriel sera généré par le Système en ligne vous invitant, à titre de répondant, à remplir le rapport. Suivez les instructions données dans le courriel afin de fournir vos coordonnées et votre évaluation du candidat. Veuillez fournir et présenter les renseignements d’ici la date indiquée par le candidat. Vous aurez également accès à la demande qu’il aura présentée.

Remarque : Le CRSNG a indiqué aux candidats de donner aux répondants une date limite qui se situe bien avant la date limite de présentation de la demande afin de permettre aux candidats de présenter leur demande dûment remplie à temps. Le CRSNG considérera la demande comme incomplète si le rapport n’y est pas joint.

Longueur du rapport

  • ES D : environ une demi-page au plus.
  • BP : la première zone de texte correspond à environ une demi-page. Vous pouvez utiliser la deuxième zone de texte pour formuler des commentaires supplémentaires (environ les trois quarts de la page).

Vous devez absolument visualiser votre rapport avant de le présenter afin de vous assurer que le texte ne dépasse pas l’espace prévu puisque le système ne vous indiquera pas que vous avez dépassé le nombre de caractères permis. Le personnel du CRSNG et les membres du comité de sélection ne pourront pas lire le texte qui ne s’affiche pas dans l’aperçu du rapport.

Une fois le rapport terminé, suivez les instructions pour le présenter par voie électronique. Le candidat sera avisé que le rapport est terminé, mais il ne pourra pas le visualiser (consultez la section Renseignements personnels). Dès que le rapport est présenté, vous n’y avez plus accès. Si vous souhaitez y apporter des modifications, vous devez communiquer avec le candidat afin de lui demander de le déverrouiller aux fins de modifications. Une fois le rapport déverrouillé, vous pouvez y apporter des modifications et le présenter de nouveau par voie électronique. Lorsque le candidat a présenté sa demande dûment remplie au CRSNG, cette fonctionnalité n’est plus disponible.

Si vous remplissez une évaluation :

Formulez des commentaires en fonction des critères d'évaluation ci-dessous et justifiez votre évaluation. Plutôt que de formuler des commentaires généraux, indiquez les points forts et les points faibles du candidat selon chaque critère. Veuillez indiquer des exemples des réalisations et des contributions du candidat pour appuyer votre évaluation.

Critères d'évaluation

Aptitude ou potentiel en recherche

  • La qualité des contributions du candidat à la recherche et développement et son rôle dans la rédaction de publications conjointes.
  • La qualité des revues dans lesquelles les articles du candidat ont été publiés.
  • La pertinence de l'expérience de travail et de la formation universitaire du candidat dans le domaine de recherche proposé.
  • L'importance, la faisabilité et la valeur de la recherche proposée.
  • L'aptitude du candidat à la recherche en fonction des points suivants :
    • le sens critique et l'esprit d'analyse;
    • la capacité d'utiliser les compétences et d'appliquer les connaissances;
    • le jugement;
    • l'originalité;
    • l'initiative et l'autonomie;
    • l'enthousiasme pour la recherche;
    • la détermination et la capacité de terminer des projets dans des délais raisonnables.

Aptitudes à la communication et à la direction et entregent

  • Capacité ou potentiel de communiquer des concepts scientifiques de manière claire et logique sous forme écrite ou orale; cela peut notamment comprendre la qualité des présentations orales et des articles ainsi que l'efficacité de l'enseignement.
  • Capacité ou potentiel d'interagir et de travailler harmonieusement avec d'autres personnes dans un contexte scientifique (p. ex., la capacité de partager des idées et de donner et recevoir des commentaires critiques).
  • Aptitudes à la direction ou potentiel à mener une carrière scientifique (p. ex., mentorat, enseignement, gestion de projet, présidence d'un comité, organisation de conférences ou de réunions, expérience en supervision).
Pondération comparée des critères de sélection
  ES D BP
Excellence universitaire 30 s.o.
Aptitudes ou potentiel en recherche 50 70
Aptitudes à la communication et à la direction et entregent 20 30

Signatures

Le CRSNG n’exige pas que les signatures originales figurent sur les demandes ou sur d’autres documents présentés électroniquement à l’aide du Système en ligne. La présentation électronique des demandes à l’aide du Système en ligne représente l’approbation et remplace la signature physique traditionnelle.

À quoi les signatures électroniques et originales sur la demande engagent-elles?

Avant que vous puissiez, à titre de répondant, présenter le rapport au CRSNG, vous devez lire et accepter les modalités qui s’appliquent aux répondants et qui sont présentées à la fin du processus de présentation de la demande. Il vous incombe de conserver une copie des modalités acceptées dans vos dossiers.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.