Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

NSERC Presents 2 Minutes with Mark MacLachlan
Chemistry, The University of British Columbia


Summary

Video Name

2 Minutes with Mark MacLachlan

Author

NSERC Communications

Duration

2:20

Release Date

June 4, 2012

Description

The frenetic pace of the global economy and demand for innovative technology has heightened the demand for materials that are stronger, lighter and more flexible or have unique properties. Few working in the field are more imaginative or innovative than The University of British Columbia's Mark MacLachlan, whose research breakthroughs have produced truly novel materials.

Dr. MacLachlan explores the potential for invention through supramolecular chemistry—a discipline that takes advantage of the fact that molecules with specific shapes and properties will self-assemble to form new materials. His achievements have earned him a 2012 E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship from NSERC.

2 Minutes with Mark MacLachlan

Transcript
Mark MacLachlan

We work in supramolecular materials. What we try to do is to take simple building blocks—molecules and ions—and make them assemble into new, useful materials.

I think our most significant discovery is the use of cellulose, now crystalline cellulose, as a template for building new materials. So a couple of years ago we were approached by a non-profit organization, FP Innovations, which is trying to develop new materials from forests. And one of the materials that they have pioneered is called nanocrystalline cellulose. And this is a material that's obtained just from pulp and paper. So if you treat pulp and paper under the right conditions, you can isolate these small nanocrystals of cellulose. And they have a unique property—they organize into a helical assembly in water. And we've been using that as a template to build new solid-state materials.

So what we found was that, by using nanocrystalline cellulose and combining that with a glass precursor, that we could transfer this structure, this helical structure of the cellulose into a porous glass. And this has allowed us to make some really unique glasses that have structures that mimic the iridescent shells of beetles. And because of this unique structure, these materials have photonic properties. They reflect specific wavelengths of light, which we can tune all the way from the infrared to the ultraviolet.

So one application we're looking at is coating building windows with these materials to reduce the amount of heating that occurs inside of the building, and, therefore, ultimately to reduce the amount of air conditioning that's required in the building to keep it cool.

I've had several strong partnerships with different companies in Vancouver and in Canada, which have been funded by NSERC Strategic Projects grants and also Collaborative Research and Development Grants, (CRD). NSERC funding has been essential to our research program. It's funded not only students but also all of our fundamental science, and it's allowed us to develop new interactions with industry from which we've really benefited.

Was this video useful?

Very useful

Somewhat useful

Not useful

No opinion

Comments:

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Le CRSNG présente 2 minutes avec
Mark MacLachlan
Département de Chimie, The University of British Columbia


Résumé

Titre de la vidéo

2 minutes avec Mark MacLachlan

Auteur

Division des communications du CRSNG

Durée

2:19

Date de diffusion

le 4 juin 2012

Description

Le rythme frénétique de l'économie mondiale et la demande de technologies innovatrices ont fait croître la demande de matériaux plus solides, plus légers et plus souples ou de matériaux qui ont des propriétés uniques. Peu de chercheurs qui travaillent dans ce domaine ont un esprit plus imaginatif et innovateur que Mark MacLachlan de la University of British Columbia, dont les percées en recherche ont mené à la production de matériaux véritablement originaux.

M. MacLachlan explore les possibilités d'invention dans le domaine de la chimie supramoléculaire, une discipline basée sur le fait que des molécules ayant des formes et des propriétés spécifiques vont s'auto-assembler pour former de nouveaux matériaux. Ses réalisations lui ont valu une Bourse commémorative E.W.R. Steacie de 2012 du CRSNG.

2 minutes avec Mark MacLachlan


Transcription
Mark MacLachlan

Nos travaux portent sur les matériaux supramoléculaires. Nous utilisons de simples éléments de base – des molécules et des ions – et essayons de les assembler pour créer de nouveaux matériaux utiles.

Je pense que la plus importante découverte que nous ayons faite concerne l'utilisation de la cellulose, pour l'instant, la cellulose cristalline, comme modèle pour la construction de nouveaux matériaux. Il y a quelques années, nous avons été contactés par FP Innovations, un organisme sans but lucratif, qui essaie de mettre au point de nouveaux matériaux à partir de ressources forestières. Et l'un des matériaux que l'organisme a conçus s'appelle la cellulose nanocristalline. On obtient ce matériau simplement à partir de la pâte et du papier. Donc, en traitant la pâte et le papier dans les bonnes conditions, on peut isoler  les petits nanocrystaux de cellulose. Ceux-ci ont une propriété unique – ils s'organisent de façon à former un assemblage hélicoïdal dans l'eau. Et nous utilisons cela comme modèle pour construire de nouveaux matériaux à l'état solide.

Nous avons découvert qu'en utilisant la cellulose nanocristalline et en la combinant à un verre précurseur, nous pouvions transférer cette structure, la structure hélicoïdale de la cellulose, pour former un verre poreux. Et cela nous a permis de fabriquer des types de verre vraiment uniques dont les structures imitent les écailles iridescentes des coléoptères. Et cette structure unique confère des propriétés photoniques à ces matériaux. Ils réfléchissent des longueurs d'onde spécifiques de la lumière que l'on peut régler pour les faire varier de l'infrarouge aux rayons ultraviolets.

L'une des applications que nous examinons est le revêtement des fenêtres des immeubles avec ces matériaux pour réduire la quantité de chaleur produite à l'intérieur des immeubles et, au bout du compte, réduire la climatisation nécessaire pour garder des locaux frais.

J'ai compté sur de solides partenariats avec diverses entreprises établies à Vancouver et ailleurs au Canada, qui ont bénéficié de subventions de projets stratégiques et de subventions de recherche et développement coopérative du CRSNG. Le financement du CRSNG a été essentiel à notre programme de recherche. Il a appuyé non seulement des étudiants mais aussi nos travaux de recherche fondamentale, et il nous a permis d'établir de nouvelles interactions avec l'industrie dont nous avons grandement bénéficié.

Cette vidéo vous a-t-elle été utile?

Très utile

Peu utile

Inutile

Sans opinion

Commentaires :

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.