Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

NSERC Presents 2 Minutes with John Clague

How Geoscientists Help Keep Canadians Safe

Summary

Video Name

2 Minutes with John Clague

Author

NSERC Communications

Duration

3:43

Release Date

August 4, 2011

Description

Although Canada is subject to a host of natural disasters, research by Canadian geoscientists and improvements in geoscience technologies have significantly reduced Canadians' vulnerability to hazardous natural processes. Simon Fraser University professor and Canada Research Chair in Natural Hazards Research, John Clague explains how scientific knowledge translates to enhanced guidelines and improved public safety.


Transcript
John Clague

My research is largely grounded in the science of natural hazards. And by natural hazards, I mean processes that operate on the surface of the Earth or at shallow depths in the crust of the Earth. For example, earthquakes, on-the-surface tsunami, landslides, floods —a wide spectrum of natural hazards.

Canada has the full set, if you will, of hazardous processes, so you can just walk through them—earthquakes, tsunami, landslides, floods, even hurricanes. The Atlantic seaboard is impacted occasionally by hurricanes that come up the Gulf Coast from the U.S. So we have it all. Vancouver and Victoria have never been damaged by an earthquake, but we know we get earthquakes in that region. So there's a lot of effort being made into getting ready for what, we feel, is an inevitable earthquake on the West Coast. A very large earthquake in Vancouver could cause more than a hundred billion dollars' damage, which is more than just a local problem; that's a national problem.

We know a lot more about earthquakes than we did 10 years ago. We have technologies in place that allow us to kind of take the pulse of the Earth, to see how the Earth is deforming and getting ready for an earthquake. And our knowledge—improvement in knowledge—which is largely funded through government support, allows us to provide better guidelines for engineers in constructing structures.

So, in Canada, we have what's called the National Building Code, and that has within it what are called seismic provisions that our engineers, contractors must follow when they build public structure or infrastructure.

And there's this process by which scientific knowledge gets incorporated into the building code through those seismic provisions. And as a result, and through improvements in engineering technology, our modern buildings are much, much better able to withstand, say, the forces during an earthquake than a building that was built even 30 years ago.

The technologies that we now can use —GIS technologies, the high-precision GPS technologies, satellite-based technologies that allow us to detect changes on the Earth's surface of millimetres per year, that in a sense give us a snapshot of how the surface of the Earth is deforming due to the processes that are operating at depth. And it's our ultimate objective that this will give us this pattern of deformation, which we can monitor continuously, you know, it's a continuous monitoring process – will give us some clues as to when an earthquake is imminent.

My great goal is to raise public awareness of these issues and to play a part in driving public policy change to – no one person can do that. But you know, as a collective, scientists can have an impact on policy.

Biography

John Clague is Shrum Professor of Science at Simon Fraser University (SFU). He was educated at Occidental College (BA, 1967), the University of California Berkeley (MA, 1969), and the University of British Columbia (PhD, 1973). Clague worked as a research scientist with the Geological Survey of Canada from 1975 to 1998. In 1998, he accepted a faculty position in Department of Earth Sciences at SFU, where he is currently the Canada Research Chair in Natural Hazards Research. He is also the Director of the Centre for Natural Hazard Research at SFU. Clague has published over 200 papers in 45 different journals on a range of earth science disciplines—including glacial geology, geomorphology, stratigraphy, sedimentology and natural hazards—and has consulted for several private-sector firms and government agencies. His graduate students are currently conducting research on natural hazards and late Holocene climate change in western Canada. Clague's other principle professional interest is improving public awareness of earth science by making relevant geoscience information available to students, teachers and the general public. He gives frequent talks to school and community groups and is regularly called by the media to comment on a range of earth science issues. Clague has written two popular books on the geology and geologic hazards of southwest British Columbia, and a textbook on natural hazards.

Was this video useful?

Very useful

Somewhat useful

Not useful

No opinion

Comments:


For further information (media only), please contact:

Martin Leroux
Media and Public Affairs Officer
NSERC
Tel.: 613-943-7618
E-mail: media@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Le CRSNG présente 2 minutes avec
John Clague

Comment les géoscientifiques aident à assurer la sécurité des Canadiens

Résumé

Titre de la vidéo

Le CRSNG présente 2 minutes avec John Clague

Auteur

Division des communications du CRSNG

Durée

3:43

Date de diffusion

le 4 août 2011

Description

Bien que le Canada puisse être frappé par une foule de catastrophes naturelles, la recherche menée par les géoscientifiques canadiens et les améliorations des technologies liées aux sciences de la Terre ont considérablement réduit la vulnérabilité des Canadiens aux phénomènes naturels dangereux. John Clague, professeur à la Simon Fraser University et titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada sur les risques naturels, explique comment les connaissances scientifiques se traduisent par de meilleures lignes directrices et une plus grande sécurité du public.


Transcription
John Clague

Ma recherche est largement fondée sur la science des catastrophes naturelles. Et par catastrophes naturelles, j'entends les processus qui se déroulent sur la surface de la Terre ou à de faibles profondeurs dans la croûte terrestre. Par exemple, les séismes, les tsunamis en surface, les glissements de terrain, les inondations, soit une grande gamme de catastrophes naturelles.

Le Canada, a la panoplie complète, si vous voulez, de catastrophes naturelles, et nous pouvons les passer en revue : séismes, tsunamis, glissements de terrain, inondations et même des ouragans. La côte de l'Atlantique est parfois frappée par des ouragans provenant de la côte du golfe du Mexique, aux États-Unis. Nous n'échappons à aucun de ces phénomènes. Vancouver et Victoria n'ont jamais été dévastées par un séisme, mais nous savons qu'il y en a dans cette région. Beaucoup d'efforts sont donc déployés pour se préparer à un séisme que nous croyons être inévitable sur la côte Ouest. Un très grand séisme à Vancouver pourrait causer plus de cent milliards de dollars de dommages, ce qui représente plus qu'un simple problème local; il s'agit d'un problème national.

Nous en savons beaucoup plus sur les séismes qu'il y a dix ans. Nous avons des technologies en place qui nous permettent  de prendre le pouls de la Terre, pour voir comment elle se déforme et nous préparer à un séisme. Et nos connaissances qui ne cessent de s'améliorer, principalement grâce à l'appui du gouvernement, nous permettent de donner de meilleures directives aux ingénieurs pour la construction des structures.

Ainsi, au Canada, nous avons notre Code national du bâtiment, et il comporte des dispositions relatives aux séismes que doivent suivre les ingénieurs et les entrepreneurs lorsqu'ils construisent une structure ou une infrastructure publique.

Et il y a le processus par lequel les connaissances scientifiques sont intégrées dans le code du bâtiment par l'entremise de ces dispositions relatives aux séismes. Grâce à cela et aux améliorations dans les techniques d'ingénierie, nos bâtiments modernes peuvent beaucoup mieux résister, disons, aux forces qui s'exercent sur eux pendant un séisme qu'un bâtiment qui a été construit il y a 30 ans à peine.

Les technologies d'aujourd'hui, les technologies des SIG, les technologies GPS de haute précision et les technologies satellitaires qui nous permettent de déceler des changements à la surface de la Terre de quelques millimètres par an, dans un certain sens, nous donnent un aperçu de la façon dont la surface de la Terre se déforme en raison des processus qui se déroulent en profondeur. Et notre objectif primordial est que cela nous apportera ce modèle de déformation, que nous pouvons surveiller continuellement, car il s'agit d'un processus continu, et qui nous apportera certains indices sur le moment où un séisme est sur le point de survenir.

Mon but premier est de sensibiliser le public à ces questions et d'aider à influer sur les politiques publiques; ce que personne ne peut faire seul. Mais vous savez, ensemble, les scientifiques peuvent avoir une incidence sur les politiques.

Biographie

John Clague est titulaire de la chaire Shrum en science de la Simon Fraser University (SFU). Il a fait ses études à l'Occidental College (B.A., 1967), à la University of California Berkeley (M.A., 1969) et à la University of British Columbia (Ph.D., 1973). M. Clague a travaillé comme chercheur à la Commission géologique du Canada de 1975 à 1998. En 1998, il a accepté un poste de professeur au Département des sciences de la Terre de la SFU, où il est actuellement titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada sur les risques naturels. Il est également directeur du Centre for Natural Hazard Research à la SFU. M. Clague a publié plus de 200 articles dans 45 revues dans une gamme de disciplines des sciences de la Terre – y compris la géologie glaciaire, la géomorphologie, la stratigraphie, la sédimentologie et les risques naturels – et a offert des services d'expert-conseil à plusieurs sociétés du secteur privé et organismes gouvernementaux. Ses étudiants aux cycles supérieurs effectuent actuellement des travaux de recherche sur les risques naturels et les changements climatiques au cours de la dernière période de l'Holocène dans l'Ouest canadien. Les principaux autres intérêts professionnels de M. Clague sont notamment de faire mieux connaître les sciences de la Terre au public en rendant les renseignements géoscientifiques pertinents disponibles aux étudiants, aux enseignants et au grand public. Il donne fréquemment des allocutions dans des écoles et à des groupes communautaires, et les médias font souvent appel à lui pour commenter une gamme de questions liées aux sciences de la Terre. M. Clague est l'auteur de deux livres très prisés sur la géologie et les risques géologiques dans le sud-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique, ainsi que d'un manuel sur les risques naturels.

Cette vidéo vous a-t-elle été utile?

Très utile

Peu utile

Inutile

Sans opinion

Commentaires :

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.